Louise Garwood

Executive Assistant to the CEO and CFO

"I am currently working as the Executive Assistant to the CEO and CFO, which sounds a lot more exciting than it is most of the time! However, I do get to be involved in some really exciting events and projects along the way, including sourcing tickets to the Euros Semi Finals last year at Wembley, which I only agreed to do if I could attend; the job has its perks! A typical day involves meeting customers that come into the office for meetings, diary management, event organisation, travel arrangements and solving any problems that arise. I enjoy the fact that no day is the same, and I enjoy working under pressure sometimes."


After high school I stayed on for Sixth Form but didn’t really enjoy it! As I worked part time and knew I didn’t want to go to university I found that I’d rather work and earn money which is why I started working full time as soon as I finished school. However, sixth form was great from a social aspect particularly when we learnt to drive which gave us more freedom!

Into work

I worked part time at Next whilst at sixth form and then full time afterwards. I left Next to go and work at Wren Kitchens, but this wasn’t for me and after working in retail and customer services for a long time I wanted something new. A friend worked at GB Railfreight and told me of a Purchase Ledger Clerk job so I applied and got the job. I enjoyed working in a professional office environment and I was able to spend some of my working time in London which I enjoyed. I also started studying for my AAT (account qualification) at Suffolk New College alongside work. After doing a couple of different roles withing the finance team, I was approached to see if I was interesting in working for the CEO in London. After some thought it seemed too much of a good opportunity for me to pass up as it would give me good exposure and opportunities across the business.

Training and qualifications

Since working I studied my AAT accountancy qualification but stopped this when I moved away from the Finance team. I have done a couple of courses relating to my current role and there is always the opportunity for me to do more if I wish.

Outside of work

I love socialising with friends and family and I really enjoy walking to the Greyhound on a Friday for dinner with my partner and our cockapoo Jasper. I love holidaying and travelling so I’m always here there and everywhere!